Let’s Go

My entire life I’ve always told myself that when I was older I would travel around and go see the world. Now that I’m 20, I’m starting to realize that no matter what I do, if I keep pushing it off, it’ll never happen. “Travel broadens the mind” they say. How desperately I want to experience it all, experience the breathtaking sights or the amazing wonders of other cultures. I want to drink it all in, and of course, write about it so I can cherish the memories forever.

So I’ve decided to do so.

Now I’m not hopping on a plane or catching a boat anytime soon, oh no. Unfortunately these things require money, and lots of it. And it seems like I’m fresh out of it. For now, I’ll continue going on with my daily life. Work, School, Write. Repeat.

But I’ll start saving. A few bucks here and there, wherever I can spare it. And as long as my willpower holds and I don’t touch this money, I should be able to travel before I’m done with school. I don’t know why I’m so obsessed with doing so before school ends, and a part of me thinks it’s because that’s what you’re supposed to do. A friend once said to me “We find out who we are and who we want to be in these years of our life” and I think I agree with him. So, naturally, I want to travel and experience it as soon as possible.

Now, I’ve just got to figure out where to go first.

 

-R.A.M.

Leave a Reply

