Flash Fiction

So I’ve been working on this small short fiction piece that I plan to submit to a local journal, known as the Indian River Review. Once I submit and find out whether my piece is accepted or not, I’ll find out if I can post the piece here on my blog.

The point I want to bring up is that while I’m working on my novel, these small short pieces of fiction are so freeing and creatively fun. It’s so satisfying to know I can work on a tiny snippet of something and be done with it, and have it be on anything I want without having to support it with background information or extensive details. The guidelines for the Indian River Review, for example, limit short fiction pieces to 4,000 words. Knowing this limit helps me focus on what’s essential to the piece at that given moment, without having to worry about the scope or big picture of a major story.

That being said, I really want to start partaking in making more “Flash Fiction”, just to keep myself on my toes (creatively speaking). I’ve seen many other writers here on wordpress partake in flash fiction fridays, and I think I’m going to jump on that bandwagon. I’ll definitely be writing smaller pieces than 4,000 (most likely), so follow my blog if you want to see more of that to come! Also, leave a comment if you also write flash fiction, so I could give you a follow and meet more writers.

 

-R.A.M.

Leave a Reply

